In between jobs

I find myself at 2:36am on Friday October 24th 2014 awake and attempting to fix my ‘blog’. From what I can decipher, I created this blog in 2010 and only posted on it once.

I have been meaning to type thoughts and post them online. What better time is there to start than right now. Also I my typing skills have been lacking lately so I need to practice.

So who am I? My name is Richmond Thackery. Born and raised in Palmerston North, 24 years old and a graduate of Victoria University of Wellington. I spent the last year living in Orlando Florida working at Disney World as a lifeguard (which was probably the best year of my life) and I am now ‘in between jobs’. I say in between jobs because I am at that stage where I want to start some sort of career.

Unfortunately, I decided to get a Bachelor of Science majoring in Geography and Environmental Studies. You’re probably thinking to yourself, what can you do with that? I get that question all the time and I too am often left thinking that myself.

Since arriving back in New Zealand mid September this year I have attempted to apply for jobs relating somewhat to my degree. I looked at various City/Regional Councils, Government Environmental groups and Department of Conservation (DoC). Most listings I come across are for managerial positions or listings that require specific ‘experience’.. This makes me think that I’m going to remain ‘unexperienced’ for a long time or I should consider going back to university (or equivalent) and do further studying.
I’d prefer not to study.

After searching for a job for the last month I managed to land a summer job thanks to a friend of mine, I think.
I say ‘I think’ because I don’t like to be absolute on something until it happens. If this does happen I’ll be working out in Dannevirke starting November 4th, 10 hours a day, 6 days a week, lasting until March 2015.

If you’re a subscriber to my youtube channel (thank you by the way) then you might be thinking, how’s Richmond going to keep making weekly ‘rich.tv’ videos. I’m thinking the same thing. This is going to be a long shot but over the next week I’m going to attempt to film and edit 5 weeks worth of videos, save them on my phone (or USB) and upload them each Wednesday.

No i’m not taking my PC with me and no I don’t have a laptop.. My laptop got flooded.. long story.

The next 5 months are going to be very interesting. If I can even keep this blog going, I’ll be impressed. As for my youtube channel and rich.tv? We’ll see.

About rrichiee

Born in Palmerston North, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In between jobs

  1. Pingback: 2015 in PREview | rrichiee

Leave a Reply

